SCIENTIFIC AWARDS

J-M Zanotti, K. Lagrenée, D. Lebeugle



The 21^{rst} of October 2008, at the "Institut de France", Jean Salençon, Vice-President of the National Academy of Sciences, handed over the "Grand Prix Michel Gouilloud Schlumberger" to **Jean-Marc Zanotti**. This prize awards outstanding research from a young (<40 years-old) researcher in the domains of Earth Sciences (Geology or Geophysics) applied to Oil Industry. The award was granted for Jean-Marc Zanotti's works on the **dynamics of confined/interfacial water**.



In 2009, the jury of the SFN Thesis Prize chaired by M. Leduc, President of the SFP, has distinguished **Karine Lagrené** for her thesis defended in October 2008 at the Université Paris Sud. This thesis, codirected by M Daoud (SPEC) and J-M. Zanotti (LLB), was dedicated to the "**Dynamic study of Polymers under quasi-uniaxial confinement**".

The 2008 SFN thesis prize was awarded to **Delphine Lebeugle** for her work on the "**Coupling between ferroelectric polarisation and magnetic structure in BiFeO3 single crystals**" (SPEC, CEA-Saclay). The prize was officially delivered on May 28 during the half day JDN Conference. The multi-disciplinary jury was chaired by Jean Pierre Hanssen, Liquid State theorist, currently at Cambridge University.